How goodly are your tents, O Jacob, your dwelling places, O Israel (Num. 24:5)

My family and I had a wonderful 4th of July week in Wrightsville Beach, NC. My husband’s maternal side of the family is from there and we had a wonderful time at the beach and just relaxing. On our 7 plus hour ride home my brother-in-law asks me, “So Parsha Balak? What are you making?” Before I could even answer my husband and his brother had talked over all the aspects of the Parsha (talking donkey, curses turned to blessings) and had decided that something with tents is what I should make. This conversation and others like it is one of my favortie parts of making a parsha dessert each week. My family and our Shabbat guests has become involved with talking about the Parsha more and it is always exciting to “unveil” the dessert each week. Being that my almost 3 year old son’s favorite food is pretzels I decided to make chocolate covered pretzel tents. While taking pictures of the “tents” my husband asked “What’s with the sprinkles?” Well, I love sprinkles and so do my children. It livens up the dessert with some much needed color. I did half sprinkles for the kids and kids at heart, and just plain chocolate for the serious types. I am actually typing this entry before Shabbat because I will be at my parents’ home this coming week. But I can tell you it is taking a lot of self restraint to not eats these tents now! Yum! 

Ingredients:
1- 15 oz. bag of pretzel sticks (pareve)
1- 10 oz. bag of pareve chocolate chips
Method:
Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper. Place pretzels in a large bowl. Melt chocolate in a double broiler over medium heat. Pour chocolate over pretzels and toss carefully to coat thoroughly. Mound pretzels on parchment paper, sprinkle half with sprinkles. Refrigerate until serving.  Yields 18-24 tents, depending on size.

