…Speak to the Children of Israel, and they shall take to you a perfectly red cow, which has no blemish, upon which a yoke has not come. (Num. 19:2)

Steel Magnolia’s armadillo groom’s cake. How could anyone forget that cake? That was one of my favorite parts of that movie. So as I read this week’s parsha the first line jumped out to me and all I could think of is red velvet cake. I have never made red velvet cake before and I was a bit short on time this week. So when I saw that Duncan Hines made a red velvet cake mix that was pareve I was ready to go. Now I did decide to use a pareve cream cheese frosting but I really didn’t want to dye it red or add red sprinkles because Idid not want to be overly sweet or too ugly to eat. So the outside of the cake is white but the inside was a beautiful red. I baked the cake in a 9″ by 13″ baking dish and carved out the face of a cow. I added some pareve chocolate chips for eyes and nostrils. I was very pleased with this cake. It was moist andeasy to make. The recipe follows:

Ingredients:

Cake:
1 box Duncan Hines Red Velvet cake mix

Method:
Follow instructions on box and bake as instructed.

Frosting:
1 8-oz. pareve cream cheese, softened
½ cup margarin,e softened
1 tsp vanilla
1 box confectioners sugar (1 lb. box)

Method:
Cream together softened cream cheese with margarine.  Add vanilla and confectioners sugar gradually and use mixer.

