Make yourself an ark of gopher wood; make the ark with compartments, and tar it inside and out with pitch. (Bereishis 6:14)

To be honest, everytime I go to Costco I gaze loningly at the churros. I love churros. I have very fond memories of eating them when I was a little girl in Southern California. So basically I really have been waiting until I could make it work to have churros for a Parsha dessert.

An ark made out of churros…amazing! The hardest part of this recipe is not eating all the churros as soon as they come out of the oil. Seriously. Being the mature adult that I am, I only burned my tongue twice on hot churros. My 17 month old daughter saw these and screamed until I gave her one. And then she cried more after I told her “no more” after three churros. You’ll love these. 

Churro Ark

recipe adapted from NY Times

Canola oil for frying

1/2 cup plus 1 tablespoon sugar

1tsp cinnamon

1/2 cup canola oil

1/4 tsp salt

1 cup all purpose flour

1 cup water

3 eggs

Method:

1. Add enough oil to a large saucepan or deep skillet to come to a depth of at least 2 inches; heat to about 350 degrees. Mix 1/2 cup sugar and the cinnamon together on a large plate

2. Combine remaining sugar, 1/2 cup canola oil, salt and 1 cup water in a saucepan over high heat, and bring to a boil. Turn heat to low, and add flour, all at once. Stir constantly until mixture forms a ball, about 30 seconds. Remove from heat, and beat eggs one at a time into mixture, stirring until smooth after each addition.

3. Spoon dough into a pastry bag with a large star tip. Press strips of dough about 4 inches long into hot oil. Cook as many as will fit comfortably at once, turning as they brown, 5 to 10 minutes each.

4. Remove churros from oil, and drain on paper towels, then immediately roll them in cinnamon-sugar mixture. Serve hot or warm.

 

 

